Top Skip to content
Michael Braverman, DHCD Commissioner Mayor Bernard C. "Jack" Young

Resident Advisory Board

The Housing Authority of Baltimore Citys Resident Advisory Board In September 1968, a group of residents met with then Housing Commissioner Robert C. Embry, Jr., to discuss tenant participation within the Housing Authority of Baltimore City (HABC). The decisions made regarding public housing affected their lives, and they wanted a voice. Commissioner Embry created the first-ever Resident Advisory Board (RAB). His goal was to foster open communication with public housing residents and HABC.

To establish the RAB, housing managers selected two board representatives from each development. The representatives were tasked with advising the Commissioner on public housing management issues. In October 1968, the newly created RAB held its first meeting with Commissioner Embry. In June 1970, Mrs. Lillian Jones, a tenant of Lakeview Towers, became the first tenant Chairperson of RAB. She subsequently became the first tenant to sit on the Housing Authority Commission. The League of Women Voters and Women Power were advocates and instrumental in helping RAB create its election procedures.

RAB members have become respected voices in the greater community, attending conferences and becoming active members on other city boards. Baltimores RAB was and continues to be a model for other cities. Today, hundreds of cities have RABs that serve thousands of residents who live in public housing. HABCs RAB continues to serve the needs of individual developments, as well as those of the entire tenant population.

2015-2017 Executive Board of the Resident Advisory Board of HABC, Inc.

Ella Broadway

President, O'Donnell Heights

Michelle Holmes

Treasurer, O'Donnell Heights

Hattie Rhames

Dukeland Family, Maintenance Chairperson

Wallace Craig

Lakeview Towers, Security Chairperson

Ada E. Cherry-Mahoi

Executive Director

Monique Johnson

Secretary, Section 8

Mary Disharoom

Albemarle Square, Senior Citizens Chairperson

Sharon Jones

Bel Park Tower, Policy Chairperson

Mary Leighton

Vice President, Rehab

Hubert Dickerson

Modernization Chairperson

Timathea Wardlaw

Lakeview Towers, Social Services Chairperson